University of Iowa Field House
The Field House originally opened in 1927 and renovated in 1985, this facility houses 10 basketball/volleyball courts, five badminton courts, 16 racquetball courts, 2 Squash Courts, Cycling Studio, Group Exercise Room, 6 Multi-Activity Rooms, 10 Wallyball Courts, a swimming pool, 3 Classrooms, locker rooms, saunas and Recreational Services offices.
Additional staff offices and academic departments housed in the Field House include Men’s & Women’s Gymnastics, Sports Camps, Health and Human Physiology, Health & Physical Activity Skills, Lifetime Leisure Skills.
The Field House is located on South Grand, just west of Rienow and Slater Residence Halls and just east of the University Hospitals and Clinics. Parking is available in Lot 6 underneath the South Gym or in Lot 14, a parking lot southeast of the Field House. The main entrance to the Field House is Main Street, the area between the swimming pool and South Gym. The Field House can be access from the east or west doors leading into the Main Street area.
Homes for the University of Iowa mens' and women's gymnastics teams are the Field House and Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The Field House, which contains the Hawkeyes' practice area, is also the site for most competitions.
The Field House is at the southern end of Iowa's physical plant. It is equipped with unique resi and foam pits, and portable bleachers for meets and clinics. The facility has a capacity of 1,500 for competitions. The coaches' offices are also located in the Field House.
The Hawkeyes also host major competitions in the 15,500-seat Carver-Hawkeye Arena, located approximately one-quarter mile northwest of the Field House.
225 South Grand Ave, Iowa City, Iowa 52242